Floyd County, KY
Munsell Map of 1818
full view

Floyd County still occupied most of Eastern Kentucky in 1818.
The population in 1820 was 8,374 people in about 1,300 households, with only 13 of them located in Prestonsburg, the county seat.

- Partial view of Floyd County, where the early May families lived -

On the 1818 Munsell Map, Robertson Fork is now Robinson Creek, Beans Creek is now Beaver Creek, and Morgans Fork is now Left Beaver Creek. Details of maps during this period were typically copied from other maps, with little up-to-date information by the printer. The only town in this large section of over 3,600 sq. miles in Eastern Kentucky was Prestonsburg, with a total population of 100, including ten slaves and one free colored person. A view of the full map of this region also shows small settlements at Licking Station and Burning Springs in present-day Magoffin County.