Go to minutes index or next meeting

Minutes of the Board of Trustees
Prestonsburg, Kentucky 41653

March 31, 2009


* Final approval of these minutes will be made at the 2010 Annual Membership Meeting *

March 31, 2009

Those present: Dawn R. Stambaugh, Garnett Fairchild, Sam Hatcher, Patricia A. Johnson, Don R. Johnson, Sabra Jacobs, John Rosenburg, Tom Matijasic, and Dr. Larry Leslie.

Mr. Hatcher called the meeting to order at 7:10 PM. He stated that the Minutes from last year's meeting had been emailed and mailed to everyone and copies were available for everyone present. He asked all present to take a few minutes and go over them. He asked for any deletions or additions; there being none, Tom Matijasic made a motion to accept the minutes and seconded by Sabra Jacobs. The Minutes will stand approved as presented.

In the absence of Mr. Hereford, Mr. Hatcher gave the Treasurer's Report. The balance of the General Fund is $3,136.06 with the major expenses being the monthly ones. He asked if there were any questions or comments regarding the Treasurer's Report. Garnett asked why the telephone bill for January was so high. Mr. Hatcher explained that the phone company had to come and work on the phone. There being no further comments; John Rosenburg made a motion to accept the report. Seconded by Tom Matijastic. The report will stand approved as presented.

Discussion was then held as to the number of Trustees for the Board for the coming year. Don Johnson made a motion to leave the number at nineteen (19). After some debate, it was seconded by John Rosenburg; and the motion passed. Therefore, the Trustees for the Samuel May House, Inc. for the 2009 - 2010 year are: Sabra Jacobs, Lillian Baldridge, Tom Matijasic, Alice Howard-Perry, William L. May, Gary May, John Rosenburg, Jim Spencer, Sam D. Hatcher, Garnett Fairchild, David Hereford, Don R. Johnson, Patricia A. Johnson, Ann Latta, Janice Allen and Dawn R. Stambaugh. One Honorary Member: Delmas Saunders. Also In Memorium are: William H. May, Dr. Robert Perry, E.B. May, Jr., and Marshall Davidson.

Next on the Agenda was the election of Vice President and Treasurer. For Vice President, Garnett Fairchild was nominated. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Stambaugh was instructed to cast one vote for Mrs. Fairchild for Vice President. For Treasurer, David Hereford was nominated. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Stambaugh was instructed to cast one vote for Mr. Hereford for Treasurer.

Mr. Hatcher then gave a report on Old Christmas. He stated that roughly 30 people attended this year. The members felt that we needed to do more advertising of the event. Sabra Jacobs suggested to purchase a sign and put in the front yard to advertise the event. Mr. Hatcher stated that he would on this and give a report at the next regular Board meeting.

Old Christmas has been set for January 10, 2010.

There being no further business for the Annual Membership Meeting; motion was made by Don Johnson to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Patricia A. Johnson. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted by:

Dawn R. Stambaugh, Secretary